TorqueNM

Honda 0 Alpha EV: Testing in India, 2027 Launch and What Honda Has Not Announced

By 5 min read

ShortsWatch while you're here

All Shorts →
Honda 0 Alpha electric SUV in pearl white

The Honda 0 Alpha is Honda’s entry-level electric SUV for the 0 Series, and Honda has confirmed two things for India: it is testing the car on Indian roads, and sales start in 2027. It has not announced a range, a charging time, a battery size or a price. Our Short promised a 500 km range and a 15-minute charge, and neither number comes from Honda. This guide sets out what is confirmed about the Honda 0 Alpha, what is only reported, and what the Short got loose, so you can judge the car without the hype.

Honda 0 Alpha at a glance

  • What it is: the “gateway model” of Honda’s global 0 Series, shown as a prototype at the Japan Mobility Show on 29 October 2025.
  • India testing: Honda Cars India began pan-India road testing on 16 March 2026.
  • Sales: Honda’s global release says from 2027, mainly Japan and India. Honda India has said FY2026-27, which ends in March 2027.
  • Range, charging, battery, price: not announced by Honda.
  • Production: planned at Tapukara, Rajasthan, for India and export.

What Honda has confirmed

Honda’s global release introduced the 0 Alpha as the entry point of the 0 Series and said sales begin in 2027. According to Autocar India, Honda Cars India started testing on public roads on 16 March 2026, and its chief executive Takashi Nakajima called it “a key milestone in our electrification journey”. The tests cover city, highway, rough roads, extreme heat, monsoon and charging performance. Honda has also confirmed two battery packs, but the chemistry and the capacities are not Honda statements.

Range and charging: why the Short’s numbers are rumours

Honda has not disclosed the range, the battery capacity, the motor output or the charging speed, and no figure comes with a test cycle such as ARAI or WLTP. Business Today’s report of 11 October says plainly that Honda has not disclosed these, and describes “over 500 km” as a circulating claim, with an estimated 400 to 500 km in the real world. Reports suggest a battery of 65 to 75 kWh with LFP chemistry, but Autocar India labels the size “likely”, so it is an estimate. On charging, some outlets quote roughly 10 to 15 minutes for a fast-charge top-up, but none attributes it to Honda, and none matches the Short’s “20 to 80 percent in 15 minutes”. So the honest summary is: reports point to 400 to 500 km or more, Honda has not announced a range, and the charging figure is unverified.

Size, platform and design

Honda has given no overall dimensions. Autocar India puts the wheelbase at about 2,700 to 2,800 mm, which is longer than the Elevate’s 2,650 mm, and Honda says it has “maximised interior room”, so more cabin space than the Elevate is plausible but not confirmed. Our Short said the car sits on a dedicated born-EV platform. Honda has described only a “Thin, Light and Wise” philosophy, and we found no official statement of a dedicated platform. A single motor with front-wheel drive is expected at launch, again unconfirmed. On the test mule, Autocar India saw a large central touchscreen, a small digital driver display, a three-spoke flat-bottom steering wheel with regeneration paddles and console buttons. The charging port is expected in the front-grille area.

Honda 0 Alpha price and rivals

There is no price. Estimates range widely: Autocar India’s article gave ₹25 lakh to ₹30 lakh in October 2025, another listing on its site shows lower figures, and CarDekho’s page says about ₹20 lakh. Treat price as “not announced”. Autocar India names the Hyundai Creta Electric, Mahindra BE 6, MG ZS EV, Maruti e Vitara, Tata Sierra EV and Toyota Urban Cruiser Ebella as expected rivals. The Sierra EV is upcoming rather than on sale.

Detail Status
Testing on Indian roads Confirmed by Honda (16 March 2026)
Sales from 2027 Confirmed by Honda; no exact date
Two battery packs Confirmed by Honda
LFP, 65 to 75 kWh Reported estimate
500 km range Rumour; reports say 400 to 500 km
15-minute charge Unverified, not from Honda
Price Not announced

The bigger Honda 0 Series was cancelled

One piece of context matters for expectations. In 2026 Honda scrapped the larger global 0 SUV and the 0 Saloon, along with the Acura RSX, citing weaker EV demand, according to Autocar India and InsideEVs. The 0 Alpha continues, and Honda’s India electric programme is unchanged. Do not assume the larger 0 SUV is coming to India.

A note on our Short

Our Short said the Honda 0 Alpha was spied with a 500 km range and a 15-minute charge. Honda has confirmed neither, and both numbers are rumours. It said the car sits on a dedicated EV platform, which Honda has not stated, and that the wheelbase is up to 2,800 mm, which is reported but unofficial. The Short also placed the sighting near the Tapukara plant, and we could not find a credible source for that location: Honda’s testing is confirmed, but outlets name different spots. The title’s “Creta EV is dead” was clickbait, since the Creta Electric is on sale and the 0 Alpha is only an expected rival in 2027. The fair parts of the Short are that testing in India is official and a 2027 launch is Honda’s stated plan.

Should you wait for the Honda 0 Alpha?

Wait if you are not buying before 2027 and want a Honda electric SUV, and you can compare it with the Creta Electric and the BE 6 once the price and range are announced. Buy something else now if you need an electric car this year, because a car with no range, no price and no date is not a basis for delay. We have not driven the 0 Alpha, and this page is based on Honda’s releases and published reports. We will update it when Honda announces specifications. For more, see electric cars, watch the Short in our Shorts feed, and read about spy shots. For the latest testing report, see Autocar India.

Honda 0 Alpha FAQs

When will the Honda 0 Alpha launch in India?

Honda says sales begin in 2027, and Honda Cars India has said FY2026-27, which ends in March 2027. There is no exact date.

What is the 0 Alpha range?

Honda has not announced it. Reports suggest 400 to 500 km or more, but no test cycle is attached to any figure.

How fast does the 0 Alpha charge?

Not announced. Figures of 10 to 15 minutes in some reports are unattributed and unverified.

How much will the 0 Alpha cost?

No price has been announced. Estimates range from about ₹20 lakh to ₹30 lakh depending on the outlet.

Where will the 0 Alpha be built?

Production is planned at Honda’s Tapukara plant in Rajasthan for India and export, according to Autocar India.

The Honda 0 Alpha is confirmed for testing and a 2027 launch, but its range, charging and price are not announced, so wait for Honda’s numbers before you plan around it.

Hindi car news on YouTube

Spy shots, launch dates & variant breakdowns

New Shorts most days and full comparison videos every week. Subscribe so the next launch reaches you first.

60-second car news

Watch next

View all →

Comments

Loading comments...

More in Electric Cars